KPV dosage in studies: doses, timing and reconstitution
Most KPV abstracts in our records do not state the amount of KPV used. The cell studies report concentrations: nanomolar KPV in intestinal and immune cells, and 10⁻¹⁵ to 10⁻⁷ M in keratinocytes. The animal studies report routes, such as drinking water in mice and rectal or intracolonic hydrogels in rats, without amounts.
What KPV dosage did studies use? In the records we cite, only the cell studies give a number. Dalmasso and colleagues reported that nanomolar concentrations inhibited inflammatory signalling in human intestinal epithelial cells and T cells, and Elliott and colleagues tested 10⁻¹⁵ to 10⁻⁷ M on keratinocytes.
The mouse and rat abstracts describe the route but not the amount. KPV was added to drinking water in the 2008 mouse colitis study, given orally in hyaluronic acid nanoparticles within a hydrogel in a 2017 mouse study, and given rectally or intracolonically in hydrogels in the rat studies. A concentration in a cell dish and an amount given to a rodent measure different things, and neither is a human dose.
The 250 mcg capsule strength and the 10 mg vial size are product specifications. They are not doses from any study. The site's reconstitution calculator does only the arithmetic of powder mass and diluent volume for the vial.
Doses used by each cited study
| Study | Model | Dose | Frequency | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dalmasso G et al. 2008 | Cell culture, human intestinal epithelial cells and T cells | Nanomolar concentrations | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract |
| Elliott RJ et al. 2004 | Cell culture, human keratinocytes | 10⁻¹⁵ to 10⁻⁷ M | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract |
| Dalmasso G et al. 2008 | Mouse, DSS and TNBS colitis | Added to drinking water; amount not stated in the abstract | Continuous (drinking water) | Not stated in the abstract |
| Xiao B et al. 2017 | Mouse, ulcerative colitis | Oral HA-KPV nanoparticles in hydrogel; amount not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract |
| Sun J et al. 2021 | Rat, TNBS colitis | Rectal KPV/SH-PGA hydrogel; KPV amount not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract |
| Zhao Y et al. 2022 | Rat, TNBS colitis | Intracolonic PMSP-KPV hydrogel; amount not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract | Not stated in the abstract |
This table reports what each study used. It is not a recommendation or an instruction.
Vial maths
| Vial | BAC water | Concentration | Per 0.01 mL (1 unit, U-100) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 10 mg | 1 mL | 10 mg/mL | 100 mcg |
| 10 mg | 2 mL | 5 mg/mL | 50 mcg |
| 10 mg | 3 mL | 3.333 mg/mL | 33.3 mcg |